WhatsApp Image 2019-07-17 at 13.44.07.jpeg


National Congress / An Chomhdáil Náisiúnta Óige 2019- Gaillimh, Friday 20th - Saturday 21st September.

Ógra Shinn Féin's National Youth Congress will take place in Galway City on Friday 20th - Saturday 21st September. Activists wishing to attend are required to register in advance using the free 'general admission' on Eventbrite. Please bring your Sinn Féin membership card with you for registration on the day. National Congress is a free event.



Activists must book their own accommodation in Galway. Please see booking.com, or Hostel World, etc, or search for one off apartments or houses for let. We advise that you speak with your local youth structures and book in groups where possible.

Below are some of the best prices places to stay in Galway during congress:

1) Sleepzone Galway City


2) Snoozles Hostel


3) Galway City Hostel


4) Kinlay Hostel




The National Youth Committee is now accepting motions for inclusion in the clár. A maximum of three motions per cumainn should be emailed to sfry@sinnfein.iebefore 5pm on Monday 2nd September 2019. Please indicate the section to which your motion is most relevant;

Health and Education. International. Economy. Youth Affairs. Social Affairs. Environment. Party Development and Integration. Peace Process and Legacy. Language and Culture.


In accordance with the Sinn Féin Constitution and Rules (see Bunreacht section), each Ógra cumainn is entitled to three voting delegates at Comhdháil Náisiúnta /National Youth Congress. Please email sfry@sinnfein.ie with three names, including the membership number of each delegate, by 5pm on Monday 2nd September 2019.

As agreed by Coiste Náisiúnta Óige, to ensure the integrity of the election process, and to secure delegate status, each Ógra cumainn will be required to submit;

1) The details (name, contact number, e-mail & Sinn Féin membership number) of their full officer board, including; Cathaoirleach (Chairperson), Leas-Chathaoirleach (Vice-Chairperson), Rúnaí (Secretary), and Cisteoir (Treasurer). If this is not in place, a cumann must hold an AGM to appoint these positions ahead of Comhdháil.

2) All active members of the Ógra cumann, including Sinn Féin membership number.

3) Pay a £20/€20 fee either ahead of Comhdháil or on the day.

Without meeting the above criteria, delegate status will be withheld.


Following on from the historic precedent set at last year’s Comhdháil, and in accordance with the constitution, delegates shall again directly elect a national officer board. This will consist of;

Cathaoirleach (Chairperson).
Leas-Chathaoirleach (Vice-Chairperson).
Rúnaí (Secretary).
Cisteoir (Treasurer).

In addition, delegates shall also elect eight members to the Coiste Náisiúnta Óige/National Youth Committee - four members from a list of female candidates and four members from a list of male candidates.

All members under 20 years of age shall elect a representative to the National Youth Committee who is under 20 years of age. Members are advised to bring ID to register for this election at the event. You do not have to be a delegate to vote in this election
Members wishing to contest any of the above position must be nominated by at least one Ógra cumann. This nomination should be emailed to sfry@sinnfein.ie before 5pm on Monday 2nd September 2019. Please include the candidate’s name, Sinn Féin membership number, gender, a photograph and a biography up to 100 words. All elections shall take place by a balloted vote, conducted by way of PR-STV, and in accordance with the Sinn Féin Constitution and Rules. Candidates must be nominated by at least one Youth Committee and have been a member of Sinn Féin for at least one year.